nicksposts

Just another WordPress.com site

Honor Your Ancestors by Visiting Their Graves—in Person or Online

Leave a comment

One of the best ways to honor your ancestors is to visit their graves. Standing amid the headstones, you can often get a sense for the area in which they lived and the legacy they have left for you. A new page on FamilySearch.org makes it much easier for you to discover and celebrate the stories of your ancestors’ lives as you visit the cemeteries where they were laid to rest.

How It Works

Visit the special FamilySearch memorial page, and sign in using your FamilySearch account. (If you don’t have one, you can easily create one.) An automated search will compare your family tree with the BillionGraves database, locate photos of your ancestors’ headstones, and plot their locations on a map. Clicking a pin on the map will open a window containing a photo of the headstone, basic information about your ancestor, and a link to GPS coordinates from BillionGraves. You can even click a link, and see how you are related to each ancestor. (Click on link for more information.)

https://familysearch.org/blog/en/memorialpage/?cid=HP_FR_5-22-2015_dFHD_fMEMD_xLIDyL2-1_

Author: nicksposts

I am a widower, single parent of 4 kids, I currently live here and Utah. I am originally from Washington State. I come from a family of seven kids. I love life,my family and my kids. I love adventure. I enjoy my kids and their activities. I love to travel and spend together as a family.I like to post information, ideas, or links that might help other people. Maybe tell a friend about my blog. And if you have information, ideas or a link to share please send a link my way. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

